Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Dropbox

Dropbox

Overview

What is Dropbox?

Dropbox is a cloud storage solution, equipped with features that help users to save time, improve productivity, and collaborate with others. Users can edit PDFs, share videos, sign documents, and collaborate with stakeholders without leaving Dropbox.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Casual User of Dropbox

8 out of 10
January 25, 2024
I use Dropbox to share files between coworkers. I also use it to store files outside my local computer. Sharing files between coworkers is …
Continue reading

Good for small businesses

7 out of 10
January 05, 2024
We use Dropbox across all teams on both desktop and mobile. It stores all our files and team collaboration documents both internally and …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 13 features
  • Reliability (558)
    8.0
    80%
  • File organization (554)
    7.8
    78%
  • Performance (556)
    7.7
    77%
  • File search (568)
    7.0
    70%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

3 videos

Dropbox has the Flexibility to Serve a Variety of Needs Across Platforms
04:00
A User Review: Years Later, Dropbox Still Makes Life Easier
03:43
Dropbox Business Review: Allows Design Business To Complete Quick & Simple File Sharing
03:22
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Plus

$9.99

Cloud
per month

Essentials

$18

Cloud
per month

Business

$20

Cloud
per month per user

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Dropbox - Overview

Navattic
Return to navigation

Features

File Sharing & Management

Features that allow collaborators to view, work on, and organize files.

7.6
Avg 8.5

Cloud Storage Security & Administration

Features related to security and administration for cloud storage platforms

7.4
Avg 8.7

Cloud Storage Platform

Features around the functionality of the cloud storage platform.

7.6
Avg 8.6
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Dropbox?

Dropbox is a cloud storage system that helps users to work efficiently with teammates and clients, stay in sync on projects, and keep company data safe. It features:

• Simplified organization
• Anytime access: It provides anytime access to files and photos on desktop, mobile, or web.
• Sharing: Dropbox allows users to share files of any size with just a link.
• Security: Advanced data protection and end-to-end encryption safeguards that protects data helps users to meet compliance and privacy standards.

Dropbox Screenshots

Screenshot of the action bar, that sits across the browser page can be used to record the screen, edit PDFs, upload files, create folders, get signatures, or send and track documents.Screenshot of Dropbox Replay, that lets collaborators leave frame-accurate feedback and markups directly on project files.Screenshot of Dropbox Capture, which can be used to take screen recordings, screenshots, and GIFs with one click and share them with a link.Screenshot of the interface where Dropbox lets users upload, edit, send, and sign PDFs in one place.

Dropbox Video

Dropbox is one of the of the most popular cloud storage options and is popular with businesses of all sizes across many different industries. We have aggregated some of the 400+ Dropbox reviews on TrustRadius and determined what the software’s most popular features are, and w...
 Show More

Dropbox Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Dropbox is a cloud storage solution, equipped with features that help users to save time, improve productivity, and collaborate with others. Users can edit PDFs, share videos, sign documents, and collaborate with stakeholders without leaving Dropbox.

Box, ShareFile, and Doxo are common alternatives for Dropbox.

Reviewers rate Audio files highest, with a score of 8.5.

The most common users of Dropbox are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(3489)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 608)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Cody McNeeley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Dropbox for all of our document storage such as contract templates, executed contracts, project documents, etc. This allows all of our team to access files & download/upload as needed.
  • Organizing Files
  • Company wide & limited access
  • Document accessibility
  • Simultaneous user editing
  • Storage backup
  • File recovery
It's nice to have everything stored digitally and accessible to all. We have run into a few issues of people editing a document at the same time and saving over someone else's edits. Additionally, we had a large folder of 114 contract templates disappear and never received an explanation as to why or recovery of said files.
April 19, 2024

Dropbox for Creatives

Michael Ng | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use Dropbox to share creative assets both internally and with clients.
  • Quick drag and drop file sharing
  • Quick previewing of images provided the size isn't too large
  • Sharing folders easily using generated links
  • Easy sharing space for internal team members
  • Proofing galleries for clients with integrated selection tools
  • Better file folder management
  • Integrate translation tools to enable users to work in the language of their choice
  • The ability to schedule and share folders/assets
  • Better batch selection. E.g. select all from selected date range, select all odd, even
Ultimately, Dropbox just works better when working crossplatform between Windows, Mac, Andoid, ios. It's snappier compared to Google Drive and is overall a more pleasant experience. The lack of integration with the rest of Google's suite is a small sacrifice. Image preview is also snappier and more pleasant to use compared to drive. Though any large batches that need review should be relegated to a better image gallery hosting platform like pic-time.
February 06, 2024

A step above

Luke Baranouskas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our team uses Dropbox for collecting field work photos via links into our site admin and ultimately our invoices for clients. I also use Dropbox as our main file system for the company and my home system as well. We recently did an workflow analysis, and Google Drive won out, overwhelmingly, when we approached Dropbox for pro-rated refund, they said our annual service fee paid 30 days before was totally unrefundable, we're actually discontinuing this service as soon as possible.
  • Has the least amount of steps to create a link to file or files
  • Uploads in the background
  • Generally synch pretty intuitively on android mobile and windows pc
  • The speed and click-through to add media to a new or existing folder is more steps than through Google Drive, we used this single function 10s if not hundreds of times per day for our 2000+ clients, this needs to be simplified
  • Not offering a pro-rated refund after having service with you for over a decade business & personal is totally unacceptable, regardless of any future service improvements, we fully intend to not use your service again
Same as other services.
January 25, 2024

Casual User of Dropbox

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use Dropbox to share files between coworkers. I also use it to store files outside my local computer. Sharing files between coworkers is very useful for our organization because my company is remote and everyone is scattered across the country for their work locations. Dropbox lets us share things easily. It's especially useful for sharing video files because I work in design and coworkers can send me a video of what they're seeing on their screen, enabling me to quickly address the design issue without having to get on a zoom call and use screen sharing.
  • sharing files with others
  • sharing video coworkers have recorded of their screen
  • helping us work together at a remote company
  • ease of access from my desktop
  • organization of files
  • real time document editing with multiple users
It works well for sharing files across an organization with coworkers. It's a good way to have a shared drive of files that everyone has access to. This is especially important at a remote company like mine where everyone works in different locations and time zones across the country. It's less useful for storing files that need to stay private. I tend to keep files I want to stay private on my local computer and not sync them to dropbox.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We utilize it to store files required for projects. This may be drawings or AutoCAD files. Along with using it to ensure that other team members have access to this all at the same time. It makes it extremely helpful that you can create various folders to organize things. Dropbox is great for our team's use.
  • Organization
  • Sharing of files
  • Quick uploads
  • Time of upload of files
  • Informing you who created a folder.
It is well suited for sharing files with your team, however recently I have had some issues with it crashing on someone else's computer- thus the files don't upload. It doesn't tell you when it crashes so it just seems as you don't have access to the files. Everything else is pretty good! The package we have allows for lots of storage.
January 12, 2024

WHO OWNES MY FILES

Jack Stanley BCC | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We used it for file sharing and storage for our companies. we had about 5 users at any given time. It from time to time would lose file formats. but generally worked well
  • File sharing and storage
  • collaboration
  • archive
  • in operation keeping files refreshed over time
  • overtly complex operation
I think Drop box is good until you ask for customer support. As I begin my retirement we asked to back out of drop box. I down loaded my files to my external hard drive, and notified them I wanted to close my account. It has been months they still have not closed my account, they have systematically found and erased all my back up files on my computer and external hard drives. so they had captured my files. I have called on 4 occasions asking the rectore my files and close my account. They want me to sign up again. I do not need to sign up again. I SIMPLY CANT GET OUT WITH MY OWN FILES
January 12, 2024

Dropbox Business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use dropbox to support our remote team by having a cloud based filing system. It allows us to have everything organized and accessible where ever our team members are.
  • keeps items organized
  • cloud based
  • syncs automatically with all users
  • availability to edit at the same time, the same version (not create multiple versions)
Its great for keeping our files very organized.
It feels like a super robust filing system.
However, when it comes to collaborative work (multiple people working on the same document at the same time), dropbox is not ideal. It saves multiple version of the document which adds confustion. Because of this we use googe drive for collaborative work although Google Drive is less organized in my opinion.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I love it- do not have any problems using it,. I load all my work and the sales team shares it for better up to date understanding. Makes work super easy.
  • loading all files needed for staffs
  • staffs also load important task for me to see progress
  • maintain everything in order
  • I get to manage all my files
  • I am not 100 professional user but the little I know works well
When I travel I get to see the work from employees at the office. Shares right away without having to wait for hrs or days to have access to documents
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Dropbox across all teams on both desktop and mobile. It stores all our files and team collaboration documents both internally and externally. We utilize it to keep track of edits, copies, and approvals. For external partners, it allows us to share files quickly and efficiently with password protected folders.
  • Secure file storage
  • Collaboration across teams
  • Desktop based access
  • Conflicted copies of documents and real time edits from multiple users is currently not supported
  • Searching and organization of documents is not optimized
  • Website based Dropbox has limited features
Dropbox is good for smaller teams and small departments where real-time collaboration is not necessary. When using it across multiple users, conflicted copies become more of an issue and can cause inefficient use of time. It works well as a way to store documents safely and securely but not so much as a workplace hub.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use it to store all of our photos, videos, other content, we also use it to organize our working docs and decks. I go into our Dropbox at least 10 times a day to pull assets or work on projects. I wish the google doc files were smaller so that they would load and work faster. I also wish sharing files didn't have so many glitches.
  • Storing photos
  • organizing files
  • making working from home easier to access assets
  • file sizes
  • sharing glitches
  • load times
It is great for saving photos and videos for everyone to access. It is not so great for multiple people working on a doc shared in Dropbox
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Saving purchase orders, important docs, etc- we use it as our main connector of documents. Our team is remote, and what's great here is that no matter what email platform one has and where anyone is in the world, Dropbox is accessible. We find this is better than possibly having connection issues.
  • Organization of folders.
  • Lots of space.
  • Clean interface.
  • Sometimes hard to find items.
  • A way to drag and drop to other interfaces without downloading items.
  • Cleaner way of organizing.
I love how Dropbox is vast in keeping small businesses running- unsure if it would be great for bigger companies- it might start to get a bit disorganized, but for us, it's ideal. We can use an Excel sheet template or even a Google sheet template to fit with whatever is being done and organize everything as needed in their respective folders.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Utilize Dropbox for accessing 100% of our data and historical files from multiple locations and through various platforms. It solves the problem of access logistics for mobile staff and multi-user environments for analysis files and work papers.
  • Allows multiple users to access files from multiple locations.
  • Secures data in an off-site location.
  • maintains conflicted files for follow up.
  • Allows local files to be updated and then synced with cloud copies when the internet is not available.
  • Syncing sometimes stops and its difficult to notice.
Good when internet access is constant or nearly constant. Good when all users are aware of limitations. Not good when the internet is sporadic or when users are not cognizant of issues that occur when multiple copies of the same file are open simultaneously.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Dropbox to share lesson material and shared projects. For the moment I haven’t found any problem. The scope of my use cases is to share material with all my colleagues to work together on shared work. The main topic is cybersecurity security, covering aspects from hardware security to network security. We also share laboratory material concerning the projects and exercises we do to practice on previous topics. The usage of Dropbox is very good for our purposes because it permits us to share all the material in real-time and in a very simple way.
  • Sharing folders and file.
  • Creating workspaces with different colleagues.
  • Synchronize the work on different devices.
  • The management of different favorite files.
  • A security improvement.
  • Better updates management.
I found Dropbox very useful for shared works and projects. An aspect where it is less appropriate is the management of folders.
December 29, 2023

Dropbox Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We work with international staff so Dropbox is vital for us. It is easy to use and share the information with all my colleagues, it is faster and I can trust it. I can rely on the system and the interface is friendly and easy to follow up. When I have a mistake I can recover the information and that is very useful and I'm very happy with the services so far
  • Sharing pictures
  • Saving video training
  • Sharing files with vendors
  • Process
  • Training
  • Pictures
When you work with external vendors you have to share videos and pictures. We manage several vendors for pictures, videos and maintenance tasks, so we have been using Dropbox for a long time and is very trustful. The vendors can add videos and pictures very easily and we can have the information right away,
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use Dropbox for document sharing among partners and business collaborators to eliminate the need for bottlenecking our email inboxes. We set up specific folders that have certain users and permissions where we share documents and collaborate on projects. I have used it with clients, partners, and even my peer affiliate group to share ideas.
  • Easy access to specific folders.
  • Size or capacity of the documents stored.
  • Reliability of brand.
  • When changing from different pricing levels, your account is in a frozen state and cannot resume the previous level until the end of the billing cycle.
It is well suited because of the space storage. If we were to use our emails, we would have to compress our files to share and maybe even have the need for multiple emails between parties to share documents. It also diminishes the security level.
Kim Hammar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We do photography shoots in one US State and process the images remotely in a different State.
  • Ability to both send and receive images from the creatives to the digital processors and then to the buyers.
  • Uploading and downloading large files moves slowly. I'm not sure if the slowness is entirely due to the sender's wifi connection, but at times, it can be agonizingly slow.
Our photographers upload photos taken on location. Digital processors then download the images to work on them. Finals are uploaded. Customers purchase photos and the digital files are delivered via Dropbox for customer download. Works great!
December 29, 2023

Great for Business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our Design Team uses Dropbox to save, organize and share large files amongst internal team members and external vendors. Dropbox enables us to save files online instead of locally on a machine and then easily share them amongst ourselves and other departments, external vendors, etc. with ease. It also provides us large storage space so we don't have to worry about running out of storage on our local machines.
  • Folder creation
  • Download ability
  • Sharing links
  • Renaming files -- too many clicks
Instead of attaching images, files, etc., we use a Dropbox folder instead. This way, we can simply send the shared link via email instead of attaching separate files to the email chain, which are normally either too large, or get lost easily when working on a collaborative project. It's great that multiple people can contribute to the same Dropbox folder, and you can edit it in live time instead of needing to send an email with a static attachment every time someone needs an update on something. You can simply say 'the Dropbox folder has been updated, please reference the link that was previously sent.' It keeps everything very streamlined and organized for us.
December 29, 2023

Great Value and Service.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Dropbox is used to sort and file away all our electronically scanned documents so that teammates may access information and we can quickly look up important information regarding our different properties, entities, and other business-related activities. We use Dropbox on a weekly to daily basis to look for information and share things with others across the cloud-based server.
  • Easy to navigate interface.
  • Access anywhere with Cloud Based service.
  • Easy to add files with drag and drop feature.
  • Automation of file naming.
  • Automation of Folder creation based on trends (ie new year folders).
  • Integration into other apps like Gmail to easily upload and share.
Dropbox is well-suited for file sharing within our organization. We have employees who do not work out of a traditional office and need to access files from a variety of locations: at home, in client meetings, and while traveling. Dropbox allows us to continue to work from anywhere and collaborate with each other by sharing our files.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We store all of our files on DropBox. We use it for personnel information, document housing, and to create and share new files as needed. It addresses the problem of having documents in several different places (on people's individual desktops, in a filing cabinet, saved in Excel, Word, etc. We were having too many issues finding the documents we needed without searching several different places before we started using Dropbox.
  • User-Friendly
  • Dependable
  • Secure
  • Nothing I can think of
Dropbox is extremely well suited for document storage, organization, and sharing. Dropbox has also started featuring a range of employee benefits (which we do not currently use at this time) Another positive of Dropbox is that our employees can work from anywhere and still access the files. They can use their phone, tablets, or their work issued computer and never be interrupted.
December 29, 2023

Fine

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Dropbox as our company's file database platform. We need version control and file-sharing capabilities that Dropbox provides. Our use case is just across internal file sharing and is used concurrently with the Google Drive ecosystem.
  • Version control.
  • Working across online + file explorer.
  • Notifying when multiple people are editing a file.
  • Lag in saving files for others to see.
  • Losing edits because of overwritten data.
  • Working concurrently in a file.
Well-suited for sharing files across users easily and establishing an easily accessible knowledge base. Less appropriate for instantaneous collaboration.
Chrisostomos Prodromou | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
My scientific research generates a lot of data. Finding it in lab books can cost a lot of time. I store all my scientific data in Dropbox and Dropbox paper. It's great as it allows me to keep related information together and to search for it easily. Everything from data, methods, notes to papers for publication can be stored easily and accessed when needed. I can also share information easily with my fellow colleagues.
  • Access from any computer or Internet connected device
  • Large storage
  • Quick syncing
  • Reliable and safe
  • Requires a lot of storage locally
  • Can end up with conflicted copies, if a file is left open elsewhere.
My experiments generate a lot of data over the many years that I have worked as a scientist. Dropbox allows me to file related information in single files and to share it easily. Thus, when I need to find the information I don't have to spend a lot of time, as I used to using lab books. It also allows me to access information when at a conference or anywhere where I am out of my office. For example, when I only had a phone I could still get access to my data.
December 29, 2023

Dropbox Review

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
N/A
  • Storage
  • Organization
  • Management
  • Cumbersome
  • User unfriendly
  • Reverse
It's good for younger beginners, they can understand computers to an extent and Dropbox is like an extension of their email so they get it. I would say it's less appropriate in regards to the older staff that isn't very well suited to computers. We've had problems trying to make them understand the concept.
December 29, 2023

Dropbox is good to use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
we use Dropbox everyday, it is one of our main server to save docs. it is so convenient that for those who have shared access of the folders, we can view the changes in files immediately and share with others using the link it created. the only issue of using Dropbox maybe syncing issue.
  • sync immediately
  • easy to use
  • allow multiple users to access the same folder
  • a reliable platform
  • cannot view large documents online (download only) in my experience
  • syncing issue
i will consider it as the option other than using OneDrive server. it is really convenient and easy to use. there is even also a Dropbox app that allow us to access the files using tablets or smartphones. we don't have to use the laptop to view the files if we want to have a quick glimpse.
December 29, 2023

Way Clinic

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
log records for 1. Lab diagnosis 2. Mammograms 3. Referrals 4. Month end reports.
  • Before using Dropbox I was using excel sheets for all my different report and held it on my desk top.
  • For several times due to various reasons(i.e computer crash) lost all my data and had hard time to gather and retrieve.
  • Since I started Dropbox I am so comfortable and worry free with my daily work flows
  • after working on one of my spread sheet and saved it not taking me back to the main menu screen for me to pick another spreadsheet.
  • I have to go completely off and come back to Dropbox to see the original menu screen. Maybe it's my user's fault. There must be a way to go back and forth off of main menu screen.
As mentioned above, we happy, less frustration and quite comfortable to use Dropbox. I am glad I do not have to use excel to store all my log sheet. I can't think where Dropbox is less appropriate.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Dropbox for several aspects of our organization—we use Dropbox as cloud storage, to collaborate on a variety of projects including Word, Excel, and PSD files, and as a repository for ProPresenter media. Dropbox is essential to our workflow and we use it in the office, on the go through our mobile app, and when we work offsite. We could not support in-house the infrastructure nor the manpower needed to effectively accomplish what Dropbox does—plus they have years of an established reputation.

  • Knowledgeable and accessible customer support
  • Reliable and dependable cloud storage
  • Important safeguards for when mistakes happen
  • Versatile among a number of applications and scenarios
  • Although I use a paid subscription, recommending the free Dropbox option to new users can be a little difficult to understand because it does not seem to be free up front.
  • In-browser interface is a little clunky and sometimes it is difficult locating certain features.
  • online/offline files and folders are difficult to understand.
  • Increased usability with other software programs
Dropbox is well suited for scenarios where multiple user are going to be working on and collaborating on a number of projects.

It is less suited for companies and organizations that have the in-house infrastructure for local servers
Return to navigation