Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Mendix

Mendix

Overview

What is Mendix?

Mendix is a low code platform-as-a-service offering with mobile and social extensions. Mendix was acquired by Siemens August 2018.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Mendix Review

10 out of 10
May 30, 2024
Incentivized
Mendix is being used as our enterprise web platform for several customer facing portals. These applications solve a number of business …
Continue reading

Mendix Review

10 out of 10
September 12, 2023
Incentivized
We're using Mendix Optimize My Plant application to help provide our customers' users in the shop access to plant simulation resources and …
Continue reading

New Mendix user

8 out of 10
July 17, 2023
Incentivized
We consult, develop and rollout custom applications and dashboarding as well as integrating OT to IT systems. We build prototypes with the …
Continue reading

Great Mendix

10 out of 10
September 06, 2018
Great application and I recommended. We were using Siebel Application and it was causing us a lot of problems, especially with user …
Continue reading

Mendix review

9 out of 10
August 28, 2018
Mendix is being used by our customers to excel in their digital transformation. Mendix creates applications in such a fast way that …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 6 features
  • Platform Security (9)
    8.8
    88%
  • Platform User Management (9)
    8.7
    87%
  • Drag-and-drop Interfaces (9)
    8.6
    86%
  • Visual Modeling (9)
    8.2
    82%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

2 videos

Siemens Mendix Review | Manager's Take On Positive and Where It Could Be Improved
04:52
Siemens Mendix Review | Aging Aircraft Solutions Relies On It
03:29
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Free Edition

$0

Cloud

Pro Edition

1,250

On Premise
per month (billed annually)

Pro Edition

1,250

Cloud
per month (billed annually)

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.mendix.com/editions

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Mendix for University Demo

YouTube

Become A Mendix Developer - Demo

YouTube

Expert Webinar Series | Automated Testing of Your Mendix App Demo

YouTube

Setting up a demo Mendix App

YouTube

Demo on Mendix 9: Workflow - Employee Onboarding

YouTube

Build A Connector in Mendix

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

Low-Code Development

Low-code development tools allow non developers to build simple process applications with little oversight. These tools simplify the application building process, and are frequently used for simple process applications.

8.5
Avg 8.5
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Mendix?

Mendix is a Low Code platform built for both speed and control, that places collaboration at the heart of the application development process. Mendix provides an integrated, comprehensive set of tools and platform services for the entire app lifecycle, from ideation and development, through deployment and operation. Ultimately, Mendix helps customers benefit from applications that are created faster, with fewer resources.

Mendix boasts users among 3,400 organizations worldwide, across dozens of verticals. Mendix was acquired by Siemens August 2018.

Mendix Features

  • Supported: Open Platform Model API and Platform SDK
  • Supported: Offline Mobile Support for Any Device
  • Supported: Responsive UI Framework
  • Supported: Agile Project Management
  • Supported: Visual Application Development
  • Supported: App Store
  • Supported: Quality Assurance

Mendix Screenshots

Screenshot of Agile Project Management: Collaborate. Manage. Iterate.Screenshot of Central App Management: Application Management Made Easy.Screenshot of App Store: Hundreds of building blocks to get you out of the gate.Screenshot of 1-Click Deployment: Efficient DevOps. Enabled.

Mendix Video

Mendix applications are used by enterprises around the world to support diverse business needs. Whether they’re internal applications, B2B, or B2C apps, Mendix’s device-specific user interface design capabilities make building applications for web, tablet, and phone easier– ...
 Show More

Mendix Integrations

Mendix Competitors

Mendix Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Mobile Web

Frequently Asked Questions

Mendix is a low code platform-as-a-service offering with mobile and social extensions. Mendix was acquired by Siemens August 2018.

Quickbase and Heroku Platform are common alternatives for Mendix.

Reviewers rate Platform Security highest, with a score of 8.8.

The most common users of Mendix are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).

Mendix Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)40%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)60%
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(109)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 66)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
May 30, 2024

Mendix Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Mendix is being used as our enterprise web platform for several customer facing portals. These applications solve a number of business needs, including: prescription engine, reporting tool, order interface, program enrollment, and much more. These applications are heavily integrated with our CRM, Salesforce.com.
  • Development is Mendix is generally quick going. The time from whiteboard to deployed application can be a matter of days. The business side loves this and allows for continuous enhancements and modifications.
  • We heavily use the feedback loop built within the application. This is used for our internal QA processes as well as for customers to submit ideas, bugs, etc. This has become a valuable asset to our team.
  • The business logic capabilities are quite comprehensive and allows going back to review "code" relatively painless
  • The documentation and user community could be stronger. With any other (well established) software, a quick Google of a problem will yield hundreds of results, solutions, blogs. That's not always the case with Mendix. This has improved, however, in the few years our organization has been using Mendix.
  • Styling pages, forms, etc., within Mendix is a bit tedious. Without a solid foundation of css, forget about making your app look anything like you would want, aside from the out-of-the-box styling packages/templates Mendix offers.
  • The Helpdesk Support is sub-par. Often times a few days will pass and a "try this... no no, try this. I meant try that..." idea(s) are thrown back. The true understanding and knowledge seems to lie with only a few individuals. Although, this too has improved in the years of using the software.
Mendix is well suited for companies looking for custom applications that can be developed at a rapid rate and that require constant changes and modifications. We've also had great success integrating it with our CRM, Salesforce. On the other hand, a smaller company looking for an application with standard function may be more suited looking for an off the shelf solution. Also, the learning curve for a non-developer to learn Mendix is quite large, despite the claims. A better training program and/or an online learning center would be extremely useful.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
To connect and operate PLM teamcenter activities. hence to solve the general problems also optimize the routine activities. Mutli purpose solutions, solve the hr related time consuming activities
  • plm Integration
  • business process problem solving
  • workflow automation
  • costing! user based license
  • cloud and on premises both provision
  • entraid Integration
good and quick app development platform
Raymond Reyes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Mendix functions as a Rapid Application Development/Low-Code Development Platform within our organization, primarily addressing our Web and Mobile App development needs. The platform has been instrumental in creating various applications, including digitizing the time capture process for plant employees, streamlining the workflow for our Request for Payment process, and facilitating other Supplier integration scenarios.
  • Low-Code Development
  • Citizen Developer
  • Platform as a Service (PaaS)
  • Offline Capabilities
  • Mobile app development
  • Code Extension
Mendix excels in scenarios involving Business Process Automation, making it a strong choice for applications requiring workflow automation, including processes like request approvals, document management, and other business workflows.Conversely, Mendix may be less suitable for projects that demand highly customized solutions with extensive custom coding. Its primary focus on low-code development may not align well with the requirements of projects that heavily rely on intricate and specialized coding.
September 12, 2023

Mendix Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We're using Mendix Optimize My Plant application to help provide our customers' users in the shop access to plant simulation resources and data and to be able to tailor experiences to each different individual user type within our customer's organization.
  • We're able to really easily develop different views that are very specific to a customer's needs or customer's different types of user needs. So for example, the production managers can have a certain view that's relevant to them and then certain line managers can have views that are specific to them that allow them to run different scenarios which they define. So it allows us to easily build customized apps for each different type of user.
  • I think there always could be easier ways to build apps with Mendix, and I think they tend to be doing a very good job. I haven't seen the new Mendix 10 yet, but I've heard some about it and they've implemented a lot of improvements, AI features, and other things. So we look forward to using those features as we get more experience with Mendix 10.
I think it's well suited if you have data available and you want to create customized solutions for different types of users. Mendix is very good at doing that. It allows you to do it very easily. So those are good use cases.
September 12, 2023

Mendix Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We use the product to help business users develop front-end business logic around some of our core systems, such as SAP, so that we don't have to adjust or customize SAP core modules. Instead, we use Mendix as a low-code fast development platform to develop add-ons and customizations.
  • It allows business users to participate more readily in converting requirements into business process flows. I think that's what it does really well, as well as integration with hyperscalers for cloudification of application customizations.
  • I would say making sure that it has full integration across all the hyperscalers such as AWS, Microsoft, and Google. That would be a key area for me.
I would say if it's being used in conjunction with the application modernization programs and customers moving some of the applications to a SaaS model, then I think Mendix works particularly well in that area, as well as improving the cycle time for developing applications and bringing them into production through the low-code platform. In terms of where it's less suited, probably less suited in more specialist engineering applications.
July 17, 2023

New Mendix user

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We consult, develop and rollout custom applications and dashboarding as well as integrating OT to IT systems. We build prototypes with the customer, PoCs and prepare the Customer for further scaling of the solutions. We also perform data analysis and system integration between high level it systems and low level Shopfloor systems.
  • Rapid development
  • Prototyping
  • Scaling
  • Flexibility
  • Difficult custom software integration
  • Mock-ups
  • Large data management in development
Ruediger Reitzig | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
My customers love Mendix as the "glue between the core apps PLM, ERP, MES". Eviden helps them to implement this great product.
  • Integrate with enterprise core applications
  • Make developers more effective
  • Takes advantage of pre-built blocks
  • Better integration with hyperscalers such AWS, MS Azure, GCO
Functionality missing in enterprise core apps such as Teamcenter, SAP, Salesforce can be easily implemented by using Mendix
July 14, 2023

Using Mendix in HE

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it to create dashboards for data stored in operations insight.
  • Easy to link to mindsphere
  • Easy to create dashboards
  • Change management on updates could be better.
Industrial Internet of things is usually a good application for Mendix.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are just at the start of our Mendix Journey. We have commissioned an app to show top level plant kpis to quarry owners of our machinery globally.
  • Easy to log in for non IT users
  • Quick versatile build
  • Easy to use app
  • Ensure Bio metrics can we easily set up and used
  • Not sure what the training is like yet, hopefully this will assist non IT users to build apps easily once set up
Due to the cost per application, the only there needs to be clear ROI for the Application per year. We implemented PowerBI and now have over 160 dashboard, Mendix has the ability to be the same if it wasn't for the cost per application. Maybe larger organisations can make this make sense easier, but for smaller SME's, this could be restrictive.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Majorly process digitalzation and automation, frontend design, process support, SAP endpoint creation
  • share from low/code to high code
  • amount of modules and possibilities out of the box
  • constant enhancement
  • clarity on use/cases easily integratable without a big effort
  • more automated and AI driven dev support
  • none
Mendix is industry leading in the field of connectivity and manufacturing use/cases as well as complex process digitalization, when wanting to design enterprise scale digital solutions.
Clients prefer other, more `easier` lowcode or even nocode platforms when it comes to the first level of digitalization of simple workflows, because those platforms are more specifically designed towards that usecase, which does not reduce the value of Mendix for us and our clients.
September 06, 2018

Great Mendix

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Great application and I recommended. We were using Siebel Application and it was causing us a lot of problems, especially with user experience and design. It was so hard to add links or new files or widgets, but we now just use Mendix and all problems are solved easily.
  • User experience
  • Microflow
  • Business check
  • New bootstrap version
I did not enter into all the scenarios but I'm sure that Mendix covers all of it.
August 28, 2018

Mendix review

Maarten Bongers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Mendix is being used by our customers to excel in their digital transformation. Mendix creates applications in such a fast way that customers can really make the difference in their industry with it. It can be used for creating business logic and with the complete cloud picture that Mendix offers it really makes a difference!
  • Rapid application development
  • Bridging the gap between IT and Business
  • Overall integrator
  • Mindfulness of performance
  • Scalability in containers
  • Development is thought of as very easy
Mendix is suited in scenarios where there is a certain business logic that integrates with strong core systems that do, for example, calculations that need to be presented to users. Mendix is less appropriate as a service bus solution. Although Mendix integrates easily, I would always go for a case with business logic!
Georgios Andronikidis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Mendix is the best solution for B2B applications of processing simple data that need to be built fast, that are built and maintained in environments that requirements change often, so applications that need to be maintainable and easy to change.
  • Data management system.
  • Front-end for any back-end.
  • State machines.
  • Flexible implementation and change.
  • Fast development (minimal time-to-market).
  • The platform supports the Scrum process.
  • Better support of the dev team (more detail in the changes made by each developer)
  • More reliable upgrading and merging of branches.
  • For-loops would be nice.
  • More "what you see is what you get" (commits to the DB, refresh of pages, showing and closing pages is usually happening at the end of a transaction, instead of the moment the developer has modeled it to happen).
Jeroen Odink | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
As a consultant at Bizzomate I primarily use Mendix as an advanced tool to help our customers to address their business needs. Currently I work on an app that aims to streamline document processing for my client. Within this organization Mendix is also used for several other use-cases, ranging from internal auditing to client dashboard applications.
  • Rapid development; Mendix is low-code and this way offers a faster approach to software development.
  • Easy to learn; Mendix can be learned by doing and is supported by good tutorials and a well supported community of developers.
  • Keeping up with their own position; I believe Mendix does a good job trying to stay on top of the low code platforms.
  • Mendix is becoming better in the mobile domain. There is still some work [needed] but they made great improvements since Mendix 7.
  • Personally I think Mendix is somewhat expensive; I believe their pricing model could be improved for medium-sized enterprises.
Mendix is the program for organizations that have an agile mindset, for organizations that believe that change is key for sustainable growth. Also Mendix is the development tool for organizations that want the business to be in control of IT instead of the other way around.
In the same vain I believe Mendix to be less appropriate for organizations that lack the above vision.
Martin van der Plaat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
We can develop applications really quick (couple of days) and our customers are always amazed by the speed with which we can show them new features in the application.
  • Mendix is very easy to learn and free to try! The online learning paths are great and range from beginner to advanced. New learning paths are added frequently and the others are regularly maintained.
  • Customising the desktop modeler works fine (placing toolbars where you want etc.) but there is no customizing the theme (yet). For instance, a dark theme would be a great addition!
Well suited for quick application development, especially in a innovative environment.
Sjoerd Beljon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our organization uses Mendix as a pillar of development. We are a Mendix premium partner and focus on making Mendix the world's leading low-code platform. Mendix is used throughout the whole organization. We use Mendix to solve business specific problems and use it for Agile RAD development.
  • Scalable
  • Fast and flexible development
  • No coding needed
  • Secure
  • Expensive
  • SAP on premise v.s. SAP Cloud connectors
I would recommend Mendix for large organization issues and applications. It is very robust and scalable. It is made to deploy quickly so changes and expansions can be made every step of the way. I would not recommend Mendix for very small projects because the costs of usage would just be too high.
April 23, 2018

My Mendix experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Mendix is being used at the core of our organization. It allows vital business processes to be managed fluently.
  • Provides a great user experience
  • Provides valuable insights into business processes by exposing bottlenecks with the visual style of modeling
  • Is very adaptable to change
  • Development time is very fast
  • Pricing is quite steep
Mendix is very well suited for developing a modern user interface on top of an existing IT-landscape. The adaptability to change allows for fast business value to be added, without intrusive database redesigns.
Menno de Haas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
In general, we apply Mendix when time-to-market for software development is short (for instance during product innovations) and requirements for flexibility are high.

If we develop web applications or mobile applications for consumer end-users, we often use Mendix as a backend that exposes APIs for websites or mobile applications.

Alternatively, when Mendix is used internally in companies, we use the Mendix front-end framework to build a web-based application.
  • Speed of development
  • Deployment options
  • Technical support
  • Memory management
  • Flexibility to improve application performance through query optimization
  • Apply custom monitoring tool (only beta available)
Appropriate to use as a Swiss army knife as it can build beautiful CRUD (Create Read Update Delete) applications within hours, but don't expect Mendix to perform well in specific niche setups. For instance, high throughput queues.

When application performance (high traffic and/or low latency) becomes very important, consider custom development or apply other services to handle the load, for instance, other AWS services.
Osama Shalabi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Mendix to solve client problems and help them innovate their business. Because of its versatility, it can be used to address any problem we encounter. Mendix is very business oriented. Mendix enables us to work closely with the business and rapidly build apps.
  • Visual coding makes it easy to read code and work together with the business
  • Fast application development and deployments
  • Certain areas are outdated due to rapid growth
  • Mobile app
We use Mendix for clients in different areas of expertise. Mendix is suited for them all. The quick adoption of new(er) technologies by the platform, or at least the ability to implement certain technologies, makes Mendix the go-to low-code platform. However, for smaller companies, a Mendix license can be a tad expensive. While working on a newer license structure, it is mainly focused on enterprise customers.
February 23, 2018

Mendix has lots to offer!

Willem van Zantvoort | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
We use Mendix to solve client problems and help them innovate their business. Because of its versatility it can be used to address any problem we encounter. Mendix is very business oriented because of, a.o., its visual logic. This enables us to work closely with the business and rapidly build apps, try out innovative ideas and generate ROI.
  • Visual coding makes it easy to read code and work together with the business
  • Fast application development and deployments
  • Business oriented
  • No need for IT experience to get started (affinity is a must though)
  • Limitations of the platform
Mobile, tablet or desktop apps. Multi-app landscapes.
Sebastian Piest | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
I consult Mendix to companies active in logistics and supply to create transparency in their value chains and digitize processes. The Mendix platform delivers instant value and is capable of supporting business processes on a global scale.
  • Citizen development
  • Integrating lifecycle management
  • Creating a global community
  • Local modeling
Mendix's sweet spot is on differentiating and innovative app development.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Mendix as a platform to build and maintain applications for several clients. Because Mendix is a RAD platform it's possible to build apps in a very short time period and solve business problems quickly.
  • Fast development (Short time-to-market)
  • Scalability
  • Large Appstore
  • Easy to integrate with other systems
  • The Mendix Sprintr environment has room for improvement
  • Licenses can be quite expensive
Situations in which Mendix is well suited:
- Continuous improvement/development
- Short time to market
- Multi-platform (desktop - mobile)
- When scope is not completely clear yet

Less suited:
- High volume data apps
- Rebuild existing packaged software
Niels van de Sande | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Our company would not exist without Mendix. Mendix makes it possible for me (a consultant that graduated in Strategic Marketing) to build applications for businesses. Every single project we do is with Mendix and it allows me as a ''business person'' to connect with other users from the business and build the best possible application for them without using any parties in between. Business talks to business rather than business talks to IT talks to business.
  • One click deployment
  • Visual representation of data flows and database
  • Easy mobile access
  • 100% cloud based development
  • Expensive licenses so inaccessible for smaller businesses
Mendix is great for building application and logic in areas where there is a lot of innovation and uncertainty (or rapidly changing environments). It is very easy to change and adjust things on the fly. It is great to do a ''Demo in a day'' business case, where a business can tell you about their problems and you show them a (mockup) solution within a few hours/days and can continue building from thereon.

Mendix is less suited for large, static trajectories for which there are already available products (WMS systems, CMS systems etc.)
Return to navigation