Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Shopify

Shopify

Overview

What is Shopify?

Shopify is a commerce platform designed for both online stores and retail locations. Shopify offers a professional online storefront, a payment solution to accept credit cards, and the Shopify POS application to power retail sales.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Would purchase again!

10 out of 10
June 11, 2024
Incentivized
I use Shopify to create discount codes, check and upload inventory, ship out orders, track incoming orders, track discount code usage, and …
Continue reading

Shopify Review

7 out of 10
June 05, 2024
Incentivized
I actually stopped using Shopify after a few months with them. I have tried pretty much every ecommerce software over the last several …
Continue reading

TrustRadius Insights

Shopify is a versatile platform that fulfills various use cases for businesses of all sizes. Users have found success using Shopify as …
Continue reading

Shopify Makes Selling, Easy

7 out of 10
November 11, 2022
We use Shopify for the sale of one of our product offerings. We needed a platform for people to easily purchase our product from instead …
Continue reading

King of E-Commerce

10 out of 10
December 02, 2021
I'm using Shopify in my organization for my online E- Commerce platform. Shopify helps us to showcase our products properly in a very good …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 20 features
  • Product catalog & listings (137)
    9.4
    94%
  • Branding (135)
    8.7
    87%
  • Product management (135)
    8.4
    84%
  • Visual customization (134)
    7.9
    79%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Shopify Lite

$9

Cloud
per month

Basic Shopify

$29

Cloud
per month

Shopify

$79

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.shopify.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $29 per month
Return to navigation

Product Demos

1-Minute Demo of How Packwerk Works | Shopify Engineering

YouTube

Basel Shopify - Use One Click Import Demo Tool

YouTube

Shopify Online Store 2.0 Demo: Dawn, the new Theme Editor, and Metafields...

YouTube

Instant Search + for Shopify Demo

YouTube

Australia Post Shipping Labels for Shopify - App Demo

YouTube

Hydrogen Coding Demo with Tobi Lütke | Shopify Unite 2021

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

Online Storefront

Features for creating an online storefront with a browse-able product catalog.

8.5
Avg 7.8

Online Shopping Cart

Features that facilitate the collection of items so that customers can purchase them as a group.

7.9
Avg 7.7

Online Payment System

Features related to processing online payment for eCommerce purchases.

9.5
Avg 8.4

eCommerce Marketing

Features related to marketing for eCommerce websites

8.4
Avg 7.6

eCommerce Business Management

Features related to business management and administration of eCommerce operations

8.1
Avg 7.9
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Shopify?

Shopify is a commerce platform that allows anyone to easily sell online, at a retail location, and everywhere in between. Shopify offers a professional online storefront, a payment solution to accept credit cards, and the Shopify POS application to power retail sales. Shopify is used by over 90,000 retailers in 100 different countries.

As a SaaS, Shopify's stability and always-on availability are touted. The eCommerce site presents the customary inventory and presentation controls typical of eCommerce solutions. Items are organized into collections, or using smart collections customize groupings to fit the merchandise (e.g. less than $20 items, gift ideas, bundles, etc.). Content management features (e.g. a blog) are present for tailoring the look and interactivity of the site.

For selling online, the $14 Starter pack includes a basic eCommerce site with 1GB of storage, chat & email support, and support for 25 listings. The $29 Basic pack includes POS and unlimited products, as well as fraud analysis tools. The $79 Professional Pack bumps storage space from 1GB to 5GB and adds gift cards, professional reports, and abandoned cart recovery. Finally, Unlimited, at $179 per month, makes space unlimited, and provides advanced reporting and real-time carrier shipping.

Shopify Features

Online Storefront Features

  • Supported: Product catalog & listings
  • Supported: Product management
  • Supported: Bulk product upload
  • Supported: Branding
  • Supported: Search & filter
  • Supported: Mobile storefront
  • Supported: Product variations
  • Supported: Subscriptions & downloads
  • Supported: Website integration
  • Supported: Visual customization
  • Supported: CMS

Online Shopping Cart Features

  • Supported: Abandoned cart recovery
  • Supported: Tax calculator
  • Supported: Shipping calculator
  • Supported: Integration with Amazon
  • Supported: Integration with eBay
  • Supported: Checkout user experience

Online Payment System Features

  • Supported: PayPal integration
  • Supported: Returns & refunds
  • Supported: Single-click checkout
  • Supported: eCommerce security

eCommerce Marketing Features

  • Supported: Promotions & discounts
  • Supported: SEO
  • Supported: Product reviews
  • Supported: Social commerce integration
  • Supported: Customer registration

eCommerce Business Management Features

  • Supported: Order processing
  • Supported: Inventory management
  • Supported: Shipping
  • Supported: Custom functionality

Shopify Videos

Subscribe to Shopify
Shopify is a powerful tool for ecommerce, but users will have to know how to setup products and collections to get the most out of it. We go through the process step by step.

Shopify Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android

Frequently Asked Questions

Shopify is a commerce platform designed for both online stores and retail locations. Shopify offers a professional online storefront, a payment solution to accept credit cards, and the Shopify POS application to power retail sales.

Shopify starts at $29.

PrestaShop, Volusion, and Miva are common alternatives for Shopify.

Reviewers rate Order processing highest, with a score of 9.7.

The most common users of Shopify are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(609)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Shopify is a versatile platform that fulfills various use cases for businesses of all sizes. Users have found success using Shopify as their primary webpage to showcase and sell unique products, catering to different brands and the general public. The platform's easy-to-use features and integration with third-party apps make it the go-to choice for most small business e-commerce requirements. Shopify has proven particularly useful for selling apparel, books, and various other products, with its seamless printing and package preparation capabilities. Additionally, organizations benefit from Shopify's efficient inventory management, integration with the US Postal Service, and discounts on order fulfillment. Notably, Shopify stands out among other e-commerce platforms due to its beginner-friendly user experience, ease of use, and integration with popular platforms like ShipStation and MailChimp. It is also highly regarded for its SEO capabilities, low cost as a hosted solution, and integrated shopping cart functionality. Overall, Shopify serves as a powerful tool for managing sales, stock, shipments, and online presence - making it the backbone of many small businesses' operations.

Based on user reviews, there are three common recommendations for Shopify. Firstly, users highly recommend Shopify for its quick and easy setup process. Customers mention that they were able to get their eCommerce stores up and running in no time, thanks to Shopify's user-friendly interface and intuitive features. Secondly, users often describe Shopify as the best plug-and-play solution for eCommerce stores. They appreciate the seamless integration of various tools and extensions, allowing them to easily customize their online stores and enhance the overall shopping experience for their customers. Lastly, reviewers also highlight the reliability of Shopify as a platform for managing their eCommerce businesses. They praise its robust infrastructure, reliable hosting, and responsive customer support team, which provides assistance whenever needed.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 150)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Eric Waddington | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We sell on a variety of marketplaces, but Shopify is our primary D2C channel. We send traffic to it via paid search, paid social, organic search, organic social, affiliate networks, partnership deals, and more. Shopify is more than capable of handling everything we've thrown at it. It is very user-friendly and feature-rich, with either a native tool or 3rd party plugin for just about anything we have imagined for the site. From landing pages to cart/checkout upselling and everything in between.
  • Good looking sites
  • Feature-rich
  • User friendly
  • Heavy code that slows load times
  • More customization of checkout process
  • Drag-and-drop page editing
Shopify is great for an e-commerce brand, as it has great native functionality as well as 3rd party plugins for just about any feature you can imagine. With Shopify being such a massive player in the market, just about every web-based business management tool will integrate with it. On the other hand, Shopify may not be necessary for a lead-gen business or informational website, as much of the functionality you pay for is focused on e-commerce.
Bobby Greenawalt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Shopify for e-commerce needs. We launched a new brand during Covid through Shopify and because of it, were able to stay in business. The ability to quickly create e-commerce, fulfillment, and shipping were key factors. I have been very pleased with Shopify and their ability to help us in times of confusion and also create a seamless product from start to finish. The amount of plug-ins is great too.
  • E-Commerce Sales
  • Fulfillment
  • Shipping
  • Inventory
  • Web Design
  • Web design outside of e-commerce pages is limited
  • Custom coding help outside of hiring a developer
Shopify is most suited for e-commerce and not so much suited for non e-commerce settings. I recommend a very basic knowledge of how to use any sort of platform to figure this one out. The help desk is great for self service help.
Emilee Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Shopify with a number of our clients e-commerce websites. It's an extension of whatever our chosen CMS is for the project. As an agency, we operate in a few different ways - sometimes we manage the software on behalf of our clients, other times we implement and then train our clients on how to manage the software for themselves. In both instances, Shopify is our go-to solution.
  • Easy to use backend
  • Customizable for product management/display
  • Cost effective
  • Basic requests for store management are not out of the box. Shopify puts a lot of stock in their apps and app partners to bring some of the features that I expected to be out of the box. I've used Shopify for multiple clients and ran into roadblocks for each when we were unable to do basic things. Sometimes the apps are free and it's no big deal. Other times you have to pay for another service to do something as basic as set up stock out reports and notifications.
  • Their support/team communication is poor. Again, working on multiple stores with license on all their levels and the support was consistently unresponsive or unhelpful.
  • If you're a partner managing multiple stores, the log-in between the partner dashboard and your individual stores is confusing. I'm often found in a loop searching for the right place to log in because you can't access the stores you are a partner on in the same way as the other Shopify stores. Seems minor, but it's a frustrating thing I encounter often.
Shopify has low barriers to entry so it's a great store for new businesses and small to medium size businesses who have a limited product amount and are interested in building a site from scratch that is centered around the buying experience. However, if you're a larger to enterprise company and want to incorporate an e-commerce element to your site, then they are still a possible solution but be prepared to hire a firm to help you implement and connect to your site in a seamless way because without a developer, it's near impossible.
Amanda Austin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I've been using Shopify to run my ecommerce store since 2017. It gives you a seamless way to launch and run an online store, even if you have zero coding experience. Their app marketplace is robust. I do miss the customer service phone line...right now, it's rather cumbersome to get help. But there is no better platform on which to build your online store.
  • App integrations
  • Easy to use interface
  • Affordability
  • Customer service
Great for someone who has no website or coding experience but wants to launch an online store. Someone who wants a trustworthy platform. Anyone looking to use apps to enhance their store's online experience.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Shopify to create discount codes, check and upload inventory, ship out orders, track incoming orders, track discount code usage, and make giftcards.
  • Extremely easy to create discount codes and track usage/accrued revenue
  • Not complicated to track incoming orders from the front end of our website
  • Seamless process to manually create orders on the backend
  • I think the filter button is hard to find when you are trying to search for a certain SKU or discount code used in an order
  • Something that can be very annoying is when the customer profile I use to place an order on the backend takes the most recent recipient address and makes it the default address on the customer profile. Every couple orders I have to go into the customer profile and remove the previous addresses and reselect the default
Shopify is great if that is the checkout script that you use on your website and you want to seamlessly integrate your back end functionalities to align. If you are looking to track incoming orders with attributed revenue, specific SKUs ordered, discount codes used, gift cards used, or make discount codes/gift cards, Shopify makes it extremely easy to do so.
Bailey Witt, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are a marketing and website development agency for eCommerce businesses, so a large majority of our clients have a Shopify website. Shopify is very easy to use for start ups and small businesses that want to sell products online. We help them either develop their site to improve conversion rate, or we employ marketing tactics to help them generate more revenue.
  • Shopify is very easy to use for agencies and business owners alike. It has a modern look and feel and is user-friendly.
  • Building and updating the online store is also very easy with page templates and themes.
  • The Shopify app marketplace is expansive and trustworthy, so it's helpful for customizations for unique business cases.
  • Shopify analytics and reports could be more in-depth. The report builder isn't very flexible, and there's a lot of reports that seem feasible but you still can't create, such as a report of sales by product tag or collection.
  • Shopify creates some unique issues for SEO that are annoying. For example, every tag you create, also creates an extra URL for every collection, so you get dozens if not hundreds more URLs that can be indexed and thus deemed as duplicate content.
  • The biggest issue with Shopify is their new checkout extensibility. The benefits of it are not very clear, and it creates major headaches for marketing tracking, having to use a different style of javascript for tracking, and it renders Google Tag Manager preview mode useless. It is much harder to track conversions and test marketing tags.
Shopify is a great tool for small businesses that want to grow an eCommerce store. It is also very useful if that business plans to work with agencies that can help with some of the nuances, like marketing tracking and development.

It is not as suitable for enterprise-level or large ecommerce businesses for some of its limitations with SEO, marketing tracking, and reporting.
June 05, 2024

Shopify Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I actually stopped using Shopify after a few months with them. I have tried pretty much every ecommerce software over the last several years and had started up a new line to my business several months ago and wanted to try Shopify since I know a lot of people use it.
  • They are popular, so they advertise themselves well.
  • They just came out with "handshake" - a wholesale division of their company.
  • Their pricing is in line with others for the most part.
  • [I feel it is] SUPER user unfriendly. I have built MANY websites over the last 20 years not just for myself but for others and Shopify was one of the most difficult.
  • I hate their sign in process just to log in to my store.
I honestly wouldn't recommend them to anyone.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Shopify at a small business boutique store that I work at. We use Shopify for our online sales platform. This means we are able to list all of our items on the website and also make sales online. This works great because we are able to boost our sales traffic and attract new customers from not only in the United States, but also from around the entire world.
  • One of the best strengths is being able to upload your entire store to Shopify. I am able to control what items go online, how much they are and even set specific shipping parameters.
  • The vast ability to change your website is an excellent plus. If I feel we need a full makeover of the website, I can simply go into the tools section and choose a different face for the front of the website. I can then customize it with different colors and fonts whatever way I want.
  • The support staff associated with Shopify is amazing. I have been in several group chats where individuals have helped with any questions we have had from shipping prices to set up a new page.
  • One con would be that there is so much in Shopify that it can be confusing to someone. It takes a lot of practice and can lead to frustration if you do not understand what you are doing.
I believe Shopify is well suited because an individual is able to attract buyers from all over the world. You can charge different prices for your products' shipping based on the buyer's location. In addition, one can learn about where the consumers are located by data collection through Shopify. Another item that is great with Shopify is if you stock-out of an item and cannot remove it from the website in time before someone purchases it, the refund process is very easy and you do not even have to capture the payment automatically to help prevent stock-outs.
April 28, 2023

Shopify Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is being used to manage all customer orders, as well as our website and product pages.
  • Host a website
  • Manage customer orders
  • Allow for a high capacity of sales
  • Lack of integration with Chargebee
  • Lack of integration with Chargify
  • Lack of subscription functionality
For e-commerce, hand down.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
How Shopify helps me make 10,000 extra every month As a small business owner, I am so grateful to have found Shopify. It has made running our online store such a breeze and has truly transformed the way we do business. One of the things I love most about Shopify is how user-friendly it is. Setting up and managing our online store is a breeze, and the platform is incredibly intuitive. Even for someone like me who isn't particularly tech-savvy, I was able to get our store up and running in no time. The integration apps available on Shopify have also been a game-changer for us. We've been able to connect our store with various marketing and sales tools, which has helped us to increase our leads and sales significantly. It's amazing to see the impact these apps have had on our business. Another huge plus for us is how easily Shopify does marketing. With its built-in tools and integrations, we're able to reach more customers and drive more sales than ever before. In fact, we make way more sales on Shopify now than we ever did in our physical store. Overall, I couldn't be happier with our decision to use Shopify. It has opened up so many new opportunities for our business and has allowed us to achieve success we never thought possible. I highly recommend it to any small business owner looking to take their sales online.
  • Managing products and Sales using a very user friendly platform.
  • Apps that make marketing really easy and effective.
  • Directly linking platforms like Instagram and Titkok and managing content that is posted on the sites.
  • Fast customer service.
  • Customer Analytics, allows me to see what type of products should I sell more.
  • If you remove an installed app from your store, somehow its code is not completely deleted, resulting in a decrease in the speed of the store.,
  • Improving the mobile experience for store owners by making the Shopify platform more mobile-friendly to manage.
  • Giving users more flexibility in terms of customizing the design of theme.
Shopify is a great platform for small to medium-sized businesses looking to set up an online store. It's easy to use, offers a wide range of features and integrations, and is perfect for businesses in the retail and food industry. However, large enterprise businesses with complex and custom needs may find Shopify less suitable.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Shopify for the sale of one of our product offerings. We needed a platform for people to easily purchase our product from instead of them having to go through their CSM to arrange and set up their order. We have saved lots of time by creating a Shopify account and can now focus on larger scale business goals as a result.
  • Easily navigate through a purchase
  • Easy set-up
  • Great customer experience
  • Better metrics dashboard to track real-time sales
Shopify is well suited for both large companies and personal business. If you are looking for a platform to easily sell your product, Shopify is a great tool. Our customers can easily navigate through our Shopify account and we are able to target the folks we need to target by sharing our storefront link across channels.
Paul Francis Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I was hired by the owners of The Outdoor Patio Store to help usher in a new, more modern experience. The website was hosted on an extremely old and out of date platform that hadn't been updated in years so I had a little experience using Shopify, and I felt it was a really good choice for a small to medium sized business. The back-end is incredibly simple to use, and on the front-end you get a really modern website that does an incredible job displaying your products.
  • Back end is insanely easy to use.
  • Follows best practices.
  • Depending on the template you use, the front end looks just as good as any high-end website.
  • Customer service is always extremely helpful.
  • Not the most inventory-friendly solution; we spend an additional $90 a month on an app for purchase orders (PO's) which is kind of ridiculous.
  • Not friendly for shipping either; we spend an additional $40-$60 a month for ShipStation which allows us to print FedEx Labels.
  • Exporting reports and .CSV files could use a little work; it's not always as easy as it could be.
I consider The Outdoor Patio Store to be a small business, and we experience the occasional headache because of Shopify's À la carte approach to ecommerce, specifically because of our need for a more robust inventory and shipping solution. Orders are placed in Shopify and inventory is tracked via Stitch Labs and our warehouse ships using ShipStation. It's not the smoothest system out there, and I don't particularly enjoy counting on three different companies to make sure my business is running properly. As our business grows, as much as I enjoy using Shopify I'm not totally sold that it's the best solution for a business that you intend on growing.
April 26, 2022

Shopify Satisfy

Hamada El Shahat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
One of the best tools to run your E-commerce, Shopify is a well-designed platform that enables you to sell products to the market. Shopify provides you with customized websites and domains. I enjoyed the 14 day trial before the actual subscription. I managed to successfully edit and build my store online easily in a few days. In order to run the site effectively, you should install Oberlo to facilitate the process of loading your products.
  • Easy bulid for your website and domain
  • Very effective and cost oriented and in the same time professional Theme
  • Help you to market to your products
  • Increase your visability with SEO
  • You have to select effective and efficient Domains
  • Some of the extra helpful tools with extra fees
  • Annual subscription not recommended if you are a starter
Overall it's very good, and helpful to sell and market your products. You can link with other social media platforms like Instegram, Facebook, and Google. [It is a] well-designed platform and you can edit inventory for your products, prices ...etc. Reports in Shopify are one of the strong points of this software as you are able to read and get results for all your marketing efforts on a daily basis.
Muhammad Waleed | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Shopify in our organization to sell our products directly to our consumers all across the country. We launched our e-commerce store [a year and a half ago] and ever since we have not faced any problems with the platform. It has helped our organization to grow drastically in terms of market share and revenue and has helped us to know our customers better through its analytics feature that provides a detailed report on our customers wants and needs. The overall experience has been positive and anyone from our organization, if asked, would recommend Shopify as an easy, fast and convenient e-commerce solution.
  • Customizable themes
  • in-built marketing
  • In-built SEO
  • Multiple plugins to cater to your needs
  • Pricing should be a little more flexible
  • Need to add paid plugins for basic features like credit card payment feature
  • Not all features are available in every country
Shopify is a great platform for SMEs who want to launch an e-commerce store without wanting to spend a lot of money. It's pretty easy to set up and launch a website and does not require any hardcore coding [over-riding the need for] hiring a developer. Moreover, integrating with social media platforms such as Facebook and Instagram is also pretty easy and straight forward which makes it even better. However, if an organization is looking forward to customizing it completely according to their needs, they would have to get Shopify's Advance subscription which is $79 per month which could be a bit high for a small and medium enterprise.
December 02, 2021

King of E-Commerce

Rejoy Varghese | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I'm using Shopify in my organization for my online E- Commerce platform. Shopify helps us to showcase our products properly in a very good manner and [it's fully] customizable. Shopify is the best E-Commerce platform to sell the products. Shopify helps us to get maximum sales and to reach maximum number of target audience. Shopify has a very good analytics and [gives] ideas [on] how to do the marketing of the products that we have added in the website. We can add many products easily. And Shopify [doesn't] require any coding skill. Anyone with basic website knowledge can develop the website. This is a major advantage of Shopify.
  • Easy product adding
  • User friendly interface
  • Best website theme management
  • Easily categorizing of products
  • Very good analytics
  • Supports most of the apps to integrate
  • Theme installation section
  • Product re editing sections
  • Size chart updating section
  • Theme header editing section
The major [advantage] of Shopify is that we can use Shopify for showcasing our E-Commerce platform. That is 1-We can easily add many products very easily. 2-Can easily customize the website theme as per our [requirements]. 3-Best [user-friendly] interface. 4-Best website analytics and much more. For these Shopify is the best platform. But for bulk uploading, Shopify takes some more time to complete the upload. This is the only thing that Shopify can improve. Rest all other features are fantastic.
NANDAKISHOR R | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Shopify is used in our organization for selling our different types of products. It is used only by the sales department and we have never faced any problems with Shopify before. It's very easy to Shopify for all types of E-commerce and it is the better platform for categorizing the products and the categories.
  • Collections
  • Themes
  • Catalogs Management
  • Orders processing
  • Tags
  • Menu
  • Tags
  • SKU
  • HSN code section
  • Themes
Shopify is the best platform for categorizing & showcasing all the products in a good way. Once we have to showcase more than 300+ products in 20+ collections with the help of Shopify only we completed that website, Because of Shopify we could make all the collections, tags, and Vendors in a better way and faster, I appreciate the Shopify team for making a wonderful software.
carlos ibarra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Shopify gives us everything we need to create and maintain an online store, including software that’s already built, hosting, plug-ins and apps (like SEO plug-ins) to help our sites grow. One of the things that makes Shopify so competitive is its compatibility with various options for making money. They give you everything you need to advertise your products and make sales online.
  • ready to use right out of the box
  • fast load times
  • compatibility with facebook and google ads
  • optimized checkout
  • professional looking website that's easy to use and maintain.
  • e-commerce store 24/7
  • almost unlimited features, themes, and apps.
  • You won't need to hire someone to build your store.
  • hard to customize by code
  • hard to track checkout events with google tag manager
  • pricing is high compared to other e-commerce platforms
Shopify is a tool that can be used without any setup. You just need to add products, prices, and shipping methods. Connecting to advertising platforms is as easy as adding a line of text and setting up analytics tracking is the same. Shopify has some monthly costs that are not so high, but they can hurt your profits in the end. You must also take into account the commissions of payment gateways.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Shopify for all of our clients eCommerce sites. We no longer have to manually batch charge credit cards for each of our clients (over 70), Shopify allows the card to charge upon importing into our shipping database.
  • fraud detection
  • inventory management
  • refunds
  • order taking
  • sales tax per county
  • categorizing sales / discounts
Shopify is an easy to use option for eCommerce. Shopify makes it easy to keep track of your inventory. Shopify is great at catching potential credit card fraud by providing different level of risks. Not only is Shopify easy to navigate, but it is really easy and nice to see a glimpse of your day by looking at the dashboard. If I were to say one thing that could use some help, I would say Shopify has a hard time specifying sales tax per county. BUT in all reality, there is nothing easy about this. Shopify is a wonderful tool and we use it for multiple clients.
Alex Charles | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Overall, Shopify is the best solution for me to create and build an e-commerce store without having any difficulty in planning and executing ideas. Shopify has all the features that I needed to create a store on my own. It is helping me in the organization to create stores for my clients by saving time much more. Intuitive in nature, fast processes, and built-in apps to clear the needs easily. I would definitely recommend these other platforms have this in their business to create stores easily.
  • It is easy to set up, the dashboard is easy to handle, designed with modern techniques so that we cannot have any problem while using this platform.
  • Integration with other software is amazing.
  • There are a lot of themes available for store creation which helps a lot in designing a store easily according to the needs.
  • It allows us to have several payment gateways on the store for receiving the payment which makes it greater.
  • The main drawback that Shopify has is that it lacks good apps to manage the software for free.
  • Shopify has different apps which are best to run the store on max strength but they are very costly like inventory management, generating multiple discount codes, and more robust customizable editing.
I am giving it this rating because I am a very satisfied user of Shopify. I have been using this platform for a very long time in my organization for creating a store for my clients and for the organization itself too. A perfect platform to have in the ecosystem to easily develop an idea, create a store according to the idea, set up easily, and manage the store across various channels.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our organization uses Shopify for our online e-commerce websites where we are able to sell different items across several different websites. It easily allows us to sell and keep track of inventory as well as easily make changes to product pages.
  • You easily make changes and create product pages without a lot of effort.
  • The website as a whole is very easy to set up initially.
  • It is a low-code environment and you can make a lot of custom changes.
  • Some better tutorials and guides for going through Shopify's own liquid language.
  • The need for a new separate language is probably needed, but it does require a developer for major changes.
Shopify is one of the best platforms out there for any ecommerce needs. Typically the only thing that people have an issue with is price. If it was not for this, there would be no need for any other platform.
June 22, 2021

Shopify, or not?

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Shopify as our eCommerce tool across the whole organization. We're a small company, so we needed something we could set up and support ourselves which Shopify made simple. As the business is a start-up, it made sense to use Shopify as they take a small percentage of sales, rather than an upfront fee.
  • Easy setup
  • Inventory, shipping, return options
  • Ability to adjust price as per margins
  • There's always an add on you need that increases the cost
  • Lacking plugins/integrations
  • SEO needs improving
Shopify is well suited for a small and at a push, medium-sized company. I'd recommend anything bigger should look elsewhere as it will most likely be more cost-effective to have a custom-made eCommerce [solution].
It's good for small companies who want to handle orders, shipping, returns, etc through one platform.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Shopify to sell and keep track of our inventory online. It helps us run our ecommerce store and sell items.
  • Logistics for seeing and getting out orders is super
  • You can integrate with other software like printing on demand and more
  • You don't need to be an expert in code to be able to operate and make simple customizations
  • You have to buy any custom templates and they can be pretty expensive
  • Beginning template options are not the best
If you sell online I would definitely recommend because the experience from both the seller and the buyer side is a great one.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Shopify is an excellent tool! Our whole team uses it to manage our ecommerce websites. It helps us to be able to sell online easily and manage an ecommerce store without a whole lot of effort and time.
  • It is definitely easy to set up and get going. This does not take a lot of work or effort on the user end, especially if using templates.
  • Low code platform. You can. make customizations without code.
  • The integrations are diverse and increase functionality.
  • The templates could definitely be improved.
  • If you do need to make significant changes it requires learning the Shopify language.
I would definitely recommend [Shopify] for anyone selling online. Though, the price may be a stretch if you are just starting out and need a lot of integrations.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Shopify is an excellent tool that our team uses to be able to sell. Setting up a store is super easy and allows you to sell online.
  • Shopify does customer service extremely well. Their team is always available and super helpful and knowledgable.
  • They have every integration imaginable so if Shopify itself does not offer what you like, I am sure you can still find an integration to do so.
  • The time it takes to set up a new store is extremely minimal which is a huge plus.
  • The interface makes sense and is easy to use.
  • Further sales analytics such as projections based on traffic, etc. would be helpful.
  • The included templates could be better for sure.
  • Price can add up if you are including all necessary plugins, etc.
I would definitely recommend Shopify as an ecommerce solution. Unless you have a logical reason to choose another software, you would definitely want to go with Shopify.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Shopify is a great tool for being able to run a full scale e-commerce website. We have used it to build sites for pride gear like t-shirts and hats, etc. It makes selling a lot easier and setup is very simple.
  • Great integrations like printful, etc. for clothing creation.
  • Very streamlined from both the company and customer sides.
  • The customer service is absolutely awesome and available 24/7.
  • The only thing that could use improvement is the cost. It does cost a lot to be able to run the site as a whole when you include the Shopify subscription as well as all of the other subscriptions that it takes to be able to run the website.
If you are starting or running an e-commerce business, then use Shopify. there is no other platform that is able to do what Shopify does and makes it as smooth as they do.
Return to navigation