Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Square 9 Softworks

Square 9 Softworks

Overview

What is Square 9 Softworks?

For document-intensive companies looking to improve business efficiency, Square 9 Softworks develops solutions for process automation that aim to drive increased productivity across all business applications.

Read more
Recent Reviews

New Client

7 out of 10
October 18, 2023
Incentivized
After implementation, we will be using Square9 on-prem for document digitization as well as workflow and repository. Currently, we have …
Continue reading

Ease of Use

10 out of 10
September 27, 2023
Incentivized
Within government records requests are frequent. This program helps with the ease and quick turnaround for those. It also ensures that our …
Continue reading

We love Square 9!

9 out of 10
September 14, 2023
Incentivized
We use Square 9 for our AP workflow, and the software also addresses our document imaging. The accounts payable person enters an invoice, …
Continue reading

amazing database

10 out of 10
September 01, 2023
I use the database to save documents. Which is an extremely simple process to do so. So easy to locate all documents that are saved by all …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Square 9 Process Automation Essentials

$45

Cloud
per month per user (5 User Minimum)

Square 9 Digital Transformation Essentials

$68

Cloud
per month per user (5 User Minimum)

Square 9 Enterprise Essentials

$75

Cloud
per month per user (10 User Minimum)

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
    Optional

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $45 per month per seat
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Square 9 Web Forms

Storylane

Square 9 Enterprise Content Management

Storylane

Square 9 Capture Automation

Storylane
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Square 9 Softworks?

Square 9 helps teams to work more efficiently by changing how business information is managed. Square 9 delivers cloud-enabled solutions that digitally transform paper into high-value data and then put that information into motion so that it flows throughout the organization regardless of where work is happening.

With a portfolio of products, including AI-Driven data extraction, web forms management, and business process management, Square 9 helps users to simplify everyday tasks. Whether finance-related projects like Vendor Invoice Routing and Approval, the Three Way Match, or Human Resources focused like Employee Onboarding, Square 9 aims to help optimize efficiency while reducing costs and improving the flow of information.

Square 9 Softworks Screenshots

Screenshot of GlobalSearch, which is used to organize and sort documents based on extracted data.Screenshot of indexed data, where users can performs a 3 way match against an order receipt and purchase order.Screenshot of GlobalCapture, which is used to build workflows and automatically assign tasks to users.Screenshot of a front-facing Portal for new hires and applicants. This lets them fill out important employee documents such as job application, Direct Deposit and W-4 forms.Screenshot of the hiring and onboarding portal, where new hire documentation is completed.Screenshot of GlobalForms, which has new hire government forms such as I-9 and W-4 forms.

Square 9 Softworks Competitors

Square 9 Softworks Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows, Mac
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesUnited States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Great Britain, France, Germany, Spain, Portugal, Belgium, Netherlands, Romania
Supported LanguagesEnglish, French, Spanish, Portuguese, German, Dutch, Romanian

Frequently Asked Questions

For document-intensive companies looking to improve business efficiency, Square 9 Softworks develops solutions for process automation that aim to drive increased productivity across all business applications.

Square 9 Softworks starts at $45.

DocuWare, Revver, and Laserfiche are common alternatives for Square 9 Softworks.

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 8.7.

The most common users of Square 9 Softworks are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(50)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 42)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Jeff Wildman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Primarily used for document retention and management. Allows us to archive and manage from a single source.
  • Customer Service
  • OCR
  • document flow
Any issues that I have had were quickly resolved by the Square 9 team. Whether it has been rebuilding because of a server move, or complex workflow design. Once, I had a complex workflow where I needed to determine how to manage a line item extraction. Their professional services team worked tirelessly to provide me a solution.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are utilizing Square 9 GlobalSearch to aid in the process of changing our Accounts Payable process from fully manual to almost fully automated. This has freed up our Accounts payable personnel to work on other projects outside of their normal roles, along with freeing up resources that we can use for other projects as well.
  • document management
  • customer service
  • communication
  • Some odd UI choices is all I can think of
I can only speak to what I've been exposed to with Square 9. That is utilizing the document management system and the AP process automation as well. From these two items, our AP process is leaps and bounds more efficient and accurate, to the point we've began pulling older invoices in just to catch issues from the past.
December 04, 2023

Square 9 Softworks Review

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it for document management and organization, for flows and systems.
  • Document management
  • Workflows
  • Organization
  • Ease of implementation
Implementation was time-consuming and daunting. It was not as smooth a transition as it was made out to be during the sales pitch. There could have been clearer examples of what they were looking for or the staff could have been more hands-on with helping to explain and provide assistance with creating the flows.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We handle customers who purchase Square 9 solutions and implement it and cater it towards their needs. Many customers have different demands whether its Forms data capture or between File sharing to GlobalSearch cloud. Many need their solution to be catered to their day to day process so they not only save time but also can manage their business efficiently.
  • Good Support
  • Ease of Use
  • Good User Interface
  • Versatility of custom solutions
  • Resources on their cloud would be appreciated
  • While it is versatile in many ways, it does seem a bit limited in others.
  • A bit more friendly UI and ease of customization for GlobalForms
For companies that have documents that need to be processed and or have other eyes on it so that it needs approval/ can have a process for this set up through Global Action. Essentially ECM that could really help companies not only save time but also streamline their day to day efficiently
Baana Veen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
We automated the file naming and routing for AP invoices specifically check scanning. We capture the payee and create a folder to be routed to based on that field and then the file is named based on the check number. These are stored in a network folder that specific users have access to using a watched folder set up as a scan-to-smb from the copiers address book.
  • OCR
  • Very little maintenance
  • Works seemlessly in the background
  • Very user friendly when validation is needed
  • The workflow doesn't default to waiting for the file to be idle
  • I would like to see the application auto-update
  • I would like to see a conditional separation to require a minimum page count before separation
Invoice processing is totally automated in the cloud. I would recommend when needing some canned solution but still having the flexibility of customization when needed. The custom fields are easy to create and creating views allows for convenient tabular views. The capture process is almost entirely behind the scenes for end-users, which makes adoption really easy.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using Square 9 Softworks as a storage solution for our signed delivery tickets.
  • Maintain workflow
  • Processing effeciently
  • Warn when the implementation time frame is expiring.
The team at Square 9 Softworks has been great at helping resolve the capturing and storage process our division needed to maintain our delivery tickets. They have offered us a solution to manage the documents as well as a search engine to find the requested proof of delivery when requested, regardless of where the end user is physically located.
October 18, 2023

New Client

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
After implementation, we will be using Square9 on-prem for document digitization as well as workflow and repository. Currently, we have documents that move around the office and even other departments via folders which can be misplaced or have incorrect documents in incorrect folders. Having these digital and with preset workflow patterns will greatly increase our efficiency as well as accuracy.
  • Document Indexing
  • Workflow Design
  • Training
  • Training datedness
If looking for an ECM product, I haven't found any reason to not go with Square 9 so far. Having come from using Perceptive Content, it seems quite similar and assuming they have backend customization via some sort of programming language, it will be on par and far cheaper in my opinion.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our IT company introduced us to Square 9 Softworks. We first used their health screening tool during COVID. It was pretty easy to implement. We were provided a QR code that we could affix to our doors. People would scan it and fill out a survey. Depending on their answers, they were given a 'go ahead' to enter the building or not. We could go online and access all the data. Obviously that was very helpful during COVID. We didn't have to have paper and clean/dirty pens sitting out on some desk or stand to maintain.

When we asked our IT company for recommendations for cloud storage, they once again put forth Square 9 Softworks. We already used a company for cloud storage but were not happy because it's performance was inconsistent. Using the cloud storage allows us to archive documents and get rid of some paper. The process was once again pretty easy. I can easily scan and maintain my archives with some pretty straightforward controls.

When we needed to create on online application, once again, Square 9 Softworks was put forth. This application will allow our potential students to apply online instead of coming to our facility in person. We are also working on being able to take the data and import it directly into another program we use to track our students.

They've done such a good job and we've enjoyed the process so much that we've just recently approached them about doing an auto fill form for us.
  • Communication
  • Streamlined Process
  • Functionality
  • Support
  • Education
  • The functionality is great but it can be a bit overwhelming. There's so much you can do that it's hard to remember how to do it - even if they've reviewed it with you and left themselves available for follow up. I don't want to necessarily have to take a class to learn how to use the product in full.
Square 9 Softworks is great in data management and flow. For us, they've done an excellent job with the Health Screening Tools, Cloud Storage/Management and Online Applications.

It seems to be a very diverse product. I think because of that, you can talk with Square 9 Softworks about what you are envisioning to see if they are capable of it. I would not do that with many other products - they just don't have that flex.
September 27, 2023

Ease of Use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Within government records requests are frequent. This program helps with the ease and quick turnaround for those. It also ensures that our permanent records will remain that, permanent.
  • Uploading documents
  • Ease of use
  • All around easy
  • I would like to see auto page advancement.
As stated, my top is records management and its ease. When searching for a file and there are multiple pages, I would like the page to automatically switch to the next page.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We primarily use Square 9 for document management across several departments. Having our documents archived in Square 9 allows us to respond to inquires much faster and with greater accuracy than dealing with paper records. We currently keeps some documents for 100 years. This has always created a burden when it comes to paper file storage within our offices. While we are still required to keep paper copies as a backup, we can do so offsite and can access the documents through Square 9 without needing to leave the desk.
  • Document Storage and Management
  • OCR
  • Active Directory Integration
  • Labeling within the software
  • Automatic Software Updates
Square 9 is well suited for document management and storage. It helps us stay organized and the OCR capabilities help us quickly and accurately index our files.

We have not run into any scenarios where Square 9 has not been able to serve our needs. Compared to what we have used in the past, Square 9 has been great to work with.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
They help us with Order Process and Document Organization. The have set up a work path for us to track a project moving from the start to the finish. It allows user to know which tasks they are to complete and not complete. It's a clear picture of everything we are processing.
  • Software Support
  • Accessibility
  • Speed of Program
  • Document Search
Being a web-based software, it helps all my users on my team have the ability to access the program from multiple devices. They can easily gain access from their phone to their computer. Sometimes the programs we Intergrated inside of Square 9 Softworks has issues for users accessing and causes inconvenience for usage.
September 14, 2023

We love Square 9!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Square 9 for our AP workflow, and the software also addresses our document imaging. The accounts payable person enters an invoice, scans it, then directs it to the appropriate approver. Once the approval process is complete, the invoices are transferred to an approved tab where I am able to export them all. This is the last step in my check printing process. Having our invoices stored electronically helps a lot when recalling past invoices. We still keep paper copies on hand, but it is much more efficient to locate the invoice in Square 9.
  • document imaging
  • Ap workflow
  • Search functionality
  • speed
The only thing I can really comment on is the AP Workflow part of Square 9. It is such an easy and efficient process, and it is much easier than doing everything by hand and paper like we used to. The system is very user friendly as well. It has been a great product for us!
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The main reason we use Square 9 is for our AP workflow. The AP person enters an invoice into our software system and then scans it into Square 9. From there, the invoice is sent to whoever was assigned to approve it. Once approved, the AP person exports a batch of invoices to do a check run. All invoices are then stored electronically after the CEO gives their final approval.
  • Great customer service
  • User friendly
  • Efficient workflow process for invoices
  • Can be slow when opening and closing individual invoices
  • Invoices randomly get hung up in the workflow sometimes
For the price point and quality of this product, we would definitely recommend it! We only use it for the AP workflow, so I can't attest to anything else. The AP workflow is pretty straight forward and user friendly. It also works well for electronic document storage of invoices.
September 01, 2023

amazing database

Geraldine D'Aversa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use the database to save documents. Which is an extremely simple process to do so. So easy to locate all documents that are saved by all in the company. Love the ease to share the documents with others one or large amounts of documents. this is accomplished in no time. An amazing product
  • Save documents forever
  • find documents all co-workers have saved
  • Share one or all documents saved
  • No improvements - love the way the product works
it is well suited to save for all types of document forever and the easy way you are able to locate certain documents even saved by others which is amazing. Love the ease of sharing the documents with clients or co-workers as many as one to hundreds in no time at all
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Square 9 is helping us to go paperless not only on our AP side but with all of our barge paperwork. We are eliminating the need to have to dig through file cabinets of folders and papers. We are in the process of using their new AI component to create all the templates needed for our AP scanning. What a huge time saver! Also, the team at Square 9 has been very helpful. I am a newer admin and they have walked me through any issues I have come across.
  • quick customer service
  • I don't have any
Square 9 has been flexible with our barge files. We needed specific custom fields and needed to be able to add notes to documents after they have been scanned. It is helpful to be able to lock the notes so that another user can't delete them.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Square 9 for all of our digital document storage for all departments, no more filing cabinets! We have also setup the OCR automation to scan in all our "proof of delivery" documents for quick and easy retrieval... the system can automatically recognize at least 10 key fields on the packing list and generate the indexes for later searches!
  • Quick and Easy retrieval of documents
  • Multiple indexing options and keywords for finding documents
  • Key Free and Automatic (OCR) indexing
  • Some of the administrative/security configuration with Windows Active Directory can be tricky when managed by separate corporate IT personnel (alignment in strategy)
  • User adoption with any new process can be challenging, but overall user friendly menus
  • As Database sizes grow (200,000+ records) paging through records can be cumbersome, probably need to migrate to an archive process to offload some of the data.
The Square 9 platform provides for all our document storage and retrieval needs, including the automatic indexing of scanned documents. We have not used the system for process flow control and management (like an AP Process), but do use it to store all the related documents within the process... it is simple to implement for simple tasks, but we need to move to the next level(s) of benefit and without a strong technical person on staff, it feels a little daunting...
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Square 9 Softworks to access our large database of applicants. Before Square 9 Softworks we had to store this info within our office and storage space was limited. Also, Square 9 Softworks has allowed me to be more efficient when it comes to accomplishing my day to day duties. Now, I can't imagine not using it.
  • Organization of information
  • Ease of use
  • Facilitates efficient office workflow
  • Square 9 Softworks isn't hard to use, so no improvement necessary
  • The functionality of Square 9 Softworks more than meets my needs, so no improvement necessary
  • Square 9 Softworks should continue delivering a top notch product
As a state-run agency, my department routinely handles an enormous amount of data. The department is application based one, so the fact that we no longer have to physically store these sensitive documents within our offices makes Square 9 Softworks (particularly Global Search) an essential component to delivering efficient customer service to our thousands of applicants.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Square 9 Softworks has allowed our school district to eliminate paper files for ALL students and staff. We have also implemented an online version of our professional learning request form, which has been amazing! The ability to access records for students and staff with a few clicks on a keyboard has been life-changing!
  • Deployment of the Product
  • Form Development
  • Training and Support
  • There is nothing at this point - We love Square 9 Softworks!
The conversion of our files to digital format was just the beginning of the process. The Square 9 Softworks product suite has allowed our organization to streamline onboarding practices as well as record management. This product has allowed us to focus on systems across the district and has made it easier to create procedures that are used across our district which was not done prior to Square 9 Softworks.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use smart search to scan Certifications for the Aerospace Industries on parts that are inspected. These files must be saved for 40 years and smart search alleviates the problem of having to store paper files. It is also great to have all files accessible in one place with easy access.
  • Saves us time
  • Organizes work by specific criteria
  • Keeps files managable
  • Automatic color detection
  • Automatic alignment
Although integration can take some time Smart Searches end result is worth the effort. Being able to scan files and allowing access to multiple people in one area is such a help in saving time but mostly saving space where we would have to save paper copies. In the industry we work in reports have to be saved for 40 years and having to store that in paper would come at far greater cost than Smart Search.
July 26, 2023

Easy to use tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We currently use S9 to store our legal documents, tax returns, accounts payable checks, ach/wires, journal entries, and some other miscellaneous documents. It eliminates the need to pick up the phone or email someone with questions retaining these documents. The key-free search is a huge benefit when needing to locate multiple documents pertaining to something specific.
  • key-free search
  • Workflow with templates
  • OCR
  • advanced training on key features
Our accounting department scans the a\p checks and back-up into the system. In doing so, regional offices can view master invoices and no longer have the need to save a copy at their location. This eliminates the need for potential questions to ap, if something gets lost in the paper files. The keyword search really comes in handy when you need to search for data that is not indexed. Emailing functionality has been helpful during Audit time.
July 24, 2023

Easy to Customize

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Square 9 Softworks to go paperless with our Accounts Payable functions. It also enables our company to use electronic invoice approval for those working remotely. It has brought our company up to speed with modern times.
  • OCR
  • document management
  • customization of processes needed
  • speed of download
We required a significant amount of customization for Square 9 Softworks to meet our needs. All accomodations were met, along with additional issues we found along the way.
July 22, 2023

Database Dream

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Square 9 Softworks eliminates the need to keep or locate hard copy files. If needed we can reprint or email to provide copies of documents. It saves time for all staff to be able to find information at there workstations. The features are easy to navigate and make date retrieval easier. It also groups our documents into practical applications.
  • Instantly makes data available to all users.
  • Allows for emailing of documents within the application
  • Eliminates the need to keep paper copies.
  • Learning how to index seems cumbersome at first, but you save time when you need to locate a specific document
  • If there has been an error in the indexing locating the document can be a challenge
Clients often misplace important documents we give them and need a copy. Square 9 Softworks allows for us to easily locate their missing documents and give them additional copies. The application also allows us to email documents to outside the office clients or attorneys, eliminating having to use a fax or traditional mail.
July 21, 2023

Square 9

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Square 9 to organize our documents. We used to have four different drives on our network to store documents. This made it very difficult for anyone to find the document they needed in a timely manner. Now that we are using Square 9 everything is in once centralized location and easily accessible to everyone in the company. Square 9 has made it so we are no longer wasting time, that could be better spent on other things, looking for documents. Square 9 also gave us the ability to make sure all of our documents are indexed the same way.
  • Makes indexing of documents easy
  • Helps with organization
  • Larger documents take a long time to open
Square 9 has been great for our document management.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Square 9 Global Search is our primary document management and payable processing software. All payable and revenue documents go through the workflow process for approvals and storage. All other company/individual documents like statements are stored here as well. We removed 15 five-drawer lateral cabinets after scanning everything into the software. All documentation for annual audits are uploaded to the accountant's portal.
  • Document storage in one location is valuable
  • Workflows keep us in compliance with operating procedures
  • Adding new vendors is very easy
  • Metadata entry is quick and precise based on our design
  • The first two characters of document names drug from email are truncated
  • We don't appear to receive regular updates to the software so we have to ask for them
The workflows are designed by us, so we match our procedures for approvals and storage. The easy download of all documents for the audit portal is exceptional.

Because we don't use the cloud we are consuming a lot of server space, but our trustees don't trust the cloud - yet.
July 21, 2023

Great Product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Global Search for our Document Management needs! This has really helped to organize and save time with all document management needs, it has helped with access to documents as well as that was an issue with our previous method.
  • Tailoring
  • Access Control
  • Document Management
  • Online
  • Implementation
  • Explaining the Square 9 site with training more
This is great if you need to save space on drives, if you need to be able to access from anywhere, If you need organization and centralization of Documents.

This isn't great if you have a ton of stuff that needs to be weeded through prior to implementation, it could take a long time unless you choose to use a third party to help with this.
Return to navigation